Built in oriental style, Mattancherry Palace, situated in
Ernakulam district of Kerala was
originally built by the Portuguese and presented to the king of Cochin,
Veera Kerala Varma, in the year 1555 AD. It was later taken over by the
Dutch who improved it through extensions and repairs in 1663 AD.
Since then it came to be called the Dutch Palace, though at no time did the Portugese nor the Dutch stayed there. One of the oldest buildings in Kerala, the Mattancherry Palace is a portrait gallery of the kings of Cochin.
In the centre of the building, is the Coronation Hall where the Cochin Rajas held their coronations. Adjacent rooms contain 17th century Murals depicting scenes from the great Indian epic, the Ramayana. On display in the palace are the dresses, turbans, weapons and palanquins from that era.
The palace is a double-storeyed quadrangular building that surrounds a central courtyard containing a Hindu Temple, enshrining the royal deity, Palayannur Bhagavati. Two more temples are situated on either side of the Palace dedicated to Lord Krishna & Lord Siva respectively.
Timings: The palace is open all days for the public between 10 am and 5 pm except on Fridays and National Holidays. Photography is not permitted.